MARSHALL — Dawson-Boyd, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton led the 12 Independent area schools with two selections each to the Independent All-Area basketball teams announced Saturday.

For the Dawson-Boyd Blackjacks, who spent most of the season ranked as the No. 2 in Class A, juniors Brayson Boike and Drew Hjelmeland were selected to the first and second teams, respectively, the Blackjacks also had honorable mention at sophomore guard. Gunner Liebl.

The Blackjacks’ top duo in the frontcourt consistently provided efficient scoring. The 6-foot-7 Boike averaged 25.8 points per game on a 55.4% effective field goal percentage, while the 6-foot-6 Hjelmeland added another 17.5 points per game to 63.1 % of FG.

Boike also surpassed Michael Lee’s program scoring record of 1,678 points, set in 2015. Boike still has another full season to continue making program history.

On the defensive side of the court, Boike and Hjelmeland were a nightmare for opposing offenses in the paint. Hjelmeland’s 2.5 blocks per game were second in the area, while Boike added another 2.0.

Murray County Central’s Bryce Hoekman led the area in blocks with 2.6 per game. The 6-foot-9 big man was also the Rebels leading scorer with 19.6 PPG on 59.4% eFG.

Dawson-Boyd went 26-3 on the season, ending the year with a loss to Minneota in the section tournament.

For the third straight year, Drew Werkman was a key contributor to those runs. The reigning Independent Player of the Year put together another quality season, scoring 18.9 points per game on 59.4% eFG and adding 10.7 boards per game for a double-double. His 3.4 assists per game were also second on the Knights behind Blake Christianson’s 3.7.

Junior Chase Christianson also had a season high for the Knights with 16 points per game. His 70.3% eFG made him the most efficient scorer on the All-Area team. He also added 6.1 rebounds per game and 1.0 blocks per game led the Knights.

The Tracy-Milroy-Balaton Panthers made a leap from an 8-19 record last year to 17-10 in 2023-2424. Leading the way for the Panthers was the junior guard duo of Trevor Smith and Alex Munson.

Smith was the area’s leading scorer, averaging 25.9 points per game on 49.5% eFG. His 78 3-pointers also tied Canby Michael Tol’s honorable mention All-Area honors.

Munson did a little bit of everything for TMB. In addition to averaging 18.4 points per game, his 6.3 assists per game led the area and his 9.7 rebounds per game were a team high.

Isaac Simonson rounds out the All-Area first team. The Red Rock Central senior center walked away with the area rebounding title, finishing with an astounding 17.3 rebounds per game. He was no slouch on the offensive end of the floor either, leading the team with 18.1 points per game on an efficient 57.5% eFG. His five assists per game were also the most among the first team.

Simonson became the ninth player in Red Rock Conference history to surpass 1,000 career rebounds. He also finished his prep career with over 1,000 points and set the Red Rock Central rebounding record.

Junior guards Alex Franson of Marshall and Hudsen Jenniges of Westbrook-Walnut Grove each also were selected to the All-Area second team.

Jenniges’ 21.6 points per game on 46.4% eFG trailed only Boike and Smith among area players. He also added 10.5 rebounds per game to average a double-double. On the defensive end, he averaged a block and a pair of steals.

Franson led the Marshall Tigers with 18.4 points per game on 51.8% eFG. His 3.2 steals per game were also the most among All-Area honorees.

Today’s latest news and more in your inbox

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *