Rock Hall of Fame nominates Cher, Mariah Carey, Sinead O’Connor, Moire

Rock Hall of Fame nominates Cher, Mariah Carey, Sinead O’Connor, Moire

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the 15 nominees for its Class of 2024 on Saturday morning, with two-thirds of the nominees being first-timers, ranging from pop superstars Mariah Carey and Cher to classic rockers Ozzy Osbourne and Peter. Frampton for the late singer-songwriter Sinead O’Connor.

Also nominated for the first time are Foreigner, Kool & the Gang, Lenny Kravitz, Oasis and Sade.

Other nominees are returning to the ballot after previously being honored: Mary J. Blige, Dave Matthews Band, Eric B. and Rakim, Jane’s Addiction and A Tribe Called Quest.

The full list of nominees for 2024, in alphabetical order:

· Mary J. Blige

· Mariah Carey

· Cher

· The Dave Matthews Band

· Eric B. & Rakim

· Stranger

· Peter Frampton

· Jane’s Addiction

· Kool & Gang

· Lenny Kravitz

· Oasis

· Sinead O’Connor

· Ozzy Osbourne

· Sade

· A tribe called quest

Cher recently made news by stating that she would decline to attend an induction if chosen, although her choice would not be influenced by her willingness, as was evidenced two years ago when the hall announced that Parton would not be removed from ballot paper. regardless of her then stated wishes. The country star came around but embraced her hype eventually, as many think Cher is likely to do.

However, Cher seemed quite determined at the time, declaring in December on “The Kelly Clarkson Show”: “You know what, I wouldn’t be in it right now if they gave me a million dollars … I wouldn’t never change your mind. They can just go on their own.

O’Connor is the candidate most on the minds of music fans of late, with her death on July 26, 2023 no doubt having an impact on voters. O’Connor’s first album came out in 1987 – the same year as Tracy Chapman, someone else who might have been a possible candidate for the vote had the nominating committee met a little later and seen the outpouring of love for of about the Grammys. .

Osbourne is the only candidate who is already a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, having been inducted in 2006 as a member of the band Black Sabbath.

Of course, many eyes will be on Oasis to see if the famously feuding Gallagher brothers can last long enough to perform at the ceremony or, barring that, stay on the same stage at all. to accept. (There is a history of foreign bands reuniting to play at the induction ceremony, including Talking Heads in 2002 and the original Heart line-up in 2013, although the Hall has been less successful in getting other bands, such as ABBA, to do a reunion performance.)

An induction for Frampton would have extra sentimental value, as the ’70s rocker is currently on a farewell tour, performing while he can while suffering from the degenerative effects of Involved Body Myositis (IBM), an autoimmune disease that affects the muscles his.

O’Connor isn’t the only candidate to die recently. Kool & the Gang lost drummer/co-founder George Brown less than four months ago, in November 2023. (Ronald “Khalis” Bell preceded him in 2020.)

In addition to Cher, Foreigner founding singer Lou Gramm is another nominee who recently complained about not being in the room, though he didn’t go so far as to vow to boycott the proceedings. “It’s not about our music, the amount of hits or fame or anything like that,” Gramm said in a fall interview with “The Rock Shop With Ralph.” “It’s a personal thing that we’re not there… It’s a personal vendetta between the gentleman who owns Rolling Stone and Mick. [Jones]. It’s very juvenile, the whole thing, and I don’t think it’s going to get any better. I think it will stay that way. I think they are setting an example for us.” (Gramm was referring to former Rolling Stone publisher Jann Wenner, who hasn’t been at the helm of the Hall or the magazine in years; he stepped down as chairman in 2020. Wenner denied having an animosity against Foreigner and said he was friend with Jones. ]

Voting by hall voters will take place between now and when the finalists are revealed at the end of April.

The ceremony will take place on an as yet undisclosed date in the fall in Cleveland; like last year, it will air live on Disney+ and then be edited for an ABC special at a later date (with Hulu availability beginning the day after the special airs). The most recent Hall induction ceremony was held in October, with ABC’s version airing on New Year’s Day.

Performers become eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of their first commercial recording.

Among those returning to the ballot, A Tribe Called Quest has previously been nominated twice, and Blige, Jane’s Addiction, Eric B. and Rakim and the Dave Matthews Band have been nominated once. A Tribe Called Quest is the only nominee to have been on the ballot in 2023, making a return attempt in 2024. The group was also on the ballot in 2022, so the nominating committee’s determination to see the hip-hop collective in is undiminished.

The exact number of nominees and inductees varies slightly from year to year. In 2023, seven honorees were voted out of 14 nominees, one less than the number on this year’s ballot.

This is the rare year in which none of the nominees are selected in their first year of eligibility. Among the first-time candidates on the ballot, Cher has been eligible since 1991; Kool & the Gang, since 1995; Frampton, since 1998; Foreigner, since 2003; Osbourne, since 2006; Sade, since 2010; O’Connor, since 2013; Kravitz, since 2015; Carey, since 2016; and Oasis, from 2020.

Among repeat nominees, Eric B. & Rakim have been eligible since 2012 (they were previously nominated that very year); Jane’s Addiction since 2013 (they were previously nominated for the class of 2017); A tribe called Quest as of 2016 (previous populations were in 2022-23); Blige since 2018 (her previous nomination came in 2021); and Dave Matthews Band since 2020 (which was the year the band’s previous nomination came in).

Although the Rock Hall appeared to be on a roll with surprise country music nominations and inductions, recent wins for Dolly Parton and Willie Nelson were not followed by anything nominated from that genre this year. Despite predictions that Loretta Lynn or Merle Haggard could be next, the Hall’s nominating committee appears to be prioritizing living candidates over departed ones, despite O’Connor and departed members of Kool & the Gang.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *